Monday, June 13, 2011

Dwight Schar College of Nursing Recognizes Student Achievement

On May 6, 2011, College of Nursing administration, faculty, staff, and students' friends and family came together to honor graduating pre-licensure nursing students and RN to BSN completion students finished with their nursing curriculum.

Nancy Lilburn, a pre-licensure student selected by her peers, presented remarks entitled, "As we move forward, reflections on where we have been." Likewise, Cynthia DiFrancesco, RN, presented her post-licensure remarks, "Twenty five years later...Really?!"

As a prelude to the pinning ceremony, Holly Finks, MSN, RN, provided the history of the Ashland University nursing pin. Sixteen post-licensure nurses were awarded pins, nine of them completing graduation requirements. A total of seventy four pre-licensure students were awarded pins, sixty one of them completing graduation requirements for May 2011.

Several special awards were also given. Outstanding Senior Student Award Recipients are selected by faculty for demonstrating outstanding academic achievement (minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25), promotion of community both within and outside the university, and contribution to scholarly achievement in the department. Recipients include: Brad Weaver-Adult Health Department; Katelyn Zeiter-Family Health Department; Meredith Pressnell-Community & Global Health Department.

The I CARE Award, newly established to recognize a senior who best exemplifies the values of the Dwight Schar College of Nursing (integrity, caring, accountability, respect and excellence) was presented. The 2011 winner of the I CARE Award was pre-licensure student Justin Taylor.

A post-licensure award for academic perserverance, Ella Kick Award for Academic Perservance, was presented to Blanka Zelnicek. Cynthia DiFrancesco was presented with the AU Rho Nu-at-large Chapter Award for Excellence in Academic Performance.

The Dwight Schar College of Nursing congratulates you all for a job well done!