Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Emily Donahue, honors BSN student; Sharon See, Clinical Assistant Professor; and Jackie Owens, Associate Professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences presented, at the 42nd Annual Conference of The Transcultural Nursing Society, Transforming Transcultural Health Care Delivery through Discovery, Innovation, and Action. The conference was held October 12-15, 2016, in Cincinnati, OH. Donahue, See, and Owens presented a poster, Understanding Suicide in the Navajo Population. See; Patti Clayburn, Clinical Assistant Professor; and Brenda DeHaan, adjunct faculty, presented a second poster, Using the BaFa BaFa Cultural Simulation Experience: Descriptions from Senior Nursing Students Exploring Unfamiliar Cultural Norms.

Emily Donahue, Dr. Larry Purnell (transcultural expert), Jackie Owens & Sharon See

Jackie Owens, Emily Donahue & Sharon See

Monday, November 28, 2016

Nursing Alumni Participate in Senior Day Activities

The nursing alumni association participated in Senior Day activities at the college of nursing recently.  The nurses set up a table where they greeted the soon-to-be graduates and invited them to join the alumni association.  They had several gifts which were raffled off to five lucky recipients.  The nurses who manned the table were Becky Mangas--MCN 2009, Judy Davis--MGH 1965 and Susan Baker--MGH 1965.  Also present but not pictured was Shirley Tipper-MGH 1954 and Carol Williams-MGH 1969.

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

AU Nursing Students Volunteer at Health Fair Hosted by BAPS Charities in Columbus

On October 2, Pragati Ghariya and Urjaben Patel, AU Accelerated Nursing students, volunteered at the Health Fair 2016 hosted by BAPS Charities in Columbus, OH. Over 20 medical professionals gathered to educate over 100 individuals on various health topics and give expert advice on health checkups and other health-related topics. BAPS Charities has more than 50 centers in the U.S. and many more worldwide.

For more information, visit the article here.

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Nursing Alumni Association Hold Banquet

The Dwight Schar College of Nursing Alumni Association held their annual banquet at the Ontario Event Center on October 1, 2016. There were approximately 50 people in attendance. The graduating classes of 1966 and 1991 of Mansfield General Hospital School of Nursing and Ashland College were honored. The only members present from those classes were two members of the MGH Class of 1966. They were Mary Morrow Appellof and Esther Tallentire Evans.  Also attending was Jane Fransens Beeching, a member of the MGH Class of 1946, celebrating 70 years since graduation.

The Alumni Association awarded three $1000 scholarships to students who wrote essays answering the question: "What are the qualities of a good nurse and how do you fit those qualities?" The essays were evaluated by the alumni board. The students selected this year are: Emily Donahue, Samantha Birchall and Katie Lemmeir. We also had two students who received scholarships from our Endowed Scholarship Fund. They are Kate Hogsette and Katrina McEuen. In total, the Nursing Alumni provided approximately $4500 in scholarship funds to students this year.

Mansfield General Hospital School of Nursing Class of 1966:
Mary Morrow Appellof & Esther Tallentire Evans
Nursing Alumni Scholarship Recipients:
Katrina McEuen, Emily Donahue & Samantha Birchall
Emily Donahue (middle), an AU nursing student, was awarded a scholarship
from the Nursing Alumni Association. Her proud grandmother,
Linda Lombard Konves, is on the left. Linda graduated from Mansfield
General Hospital School of Nursing in 1962. Emily's mom, Karen Donahue,
is on the right

On September 22, 1924, seven women graduated from Mansfield General School of Nursing. The following day they were all sitting around the fire place on their time off discussing their future. They realized  their class would be the beginning of an Alumni Association and in order to have an organization they must appoint officers. So after some discussion they came up with the following officers, President Miss Gayle C. Rife, Secretary Miss Laura Ricker, Treasurer Miss Ruby Maurer, Miss Kathryn Van Tilburg was named Trustee.

Activities of the association are many and varied. Scholarships are granted to worthy student nurses on the basis of merit or need and continued throughout the three years upon satisfactory academic standing. Trends in medical research, community projects, and other interesting and informative programs highlight their monthly meetings.

Graduate nurses are urged to actively participate in the association to future the closeness of the profession.

Friday, August 26, 2016

Faculty & Students Volunteer at Amish Health Fair

On Tuesday, August 23, 7 students along with Sharon See, Clinical Assistant Professor, and Marje Silcox, Adjunct Instructor, volunteered at the annual Amish Health Fair. The event was held at Windy Knolls in Sullivan, OH. Students checked blood pressure and blood sugar readings and assisted with other participants as needed. Approximately 300 Amish attended the event to learn about fire safety, basic CPR and buggy safety on the highway.

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Winners of the CONHS Knowledge Integration Research Day

In order left to right from first to fifth place:  Marjie Smallman, Erin Burke,
Maria Neville, Taylor Mellick, and Alvine Kombem

The College of Nursing and Health Sciences held the summer Knowledge Integration Research Day on July 25, 2016. Each student presented an interesting research poster, that represented several journal articles of current research from which they integrated the knowledge for use in nursing practice. The seniors did an excellent job disseminating new information on their chosen topics.

The poster session is a required assignment in the "Nursing Leadership and Management of Healthcare Organizations" course, taught by Dr. Karen Estridge.

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Two AU Nursing Grads Nominated for OhioHealth Prism Award

The Compassionate Care Team at OhioHealth Mansfield has been nominated for an OhioHealth Prism Award. On that team is Brittany Trease, a 2010 graduate of MedCentral College of Nursing, and Kentee Fitch, a May 2016 graduate of Ashland University Dwight Schar College of Nursing & Health Sciences. Brittany precepted Kentee during her senior year at AU this past Spring. The team was nominated by Aimee Fahey, Director of Nursing on the Critical Care, Step-Down and Trauma units at OhioHealth Mansfield.

Aimee describes Brittany and Kentee’s compassionate care below:
“Brittany and Kentee had taken care of [the patient] several times and had formed a bond with the family. The family made a special request that Brittany and Kentee have him that evening. Several hours later, after he passed away, they presented his wife with what’s called a ‘heartbeat in a bottle.’ The bond with these two nurses was so great that the family requested they attend the patient’s funeral, which they graciously did. They continued to support this family through this difficult time even after the patient and family were no longer under their care.”
The OhioHealth Prism Awards is OhioHealth’s “most prestigious event. They recognize the many extraordinary and inspirational ways [they] model the behaviors connected to OhioHealth’s core values of compassion, excellence, integrity and stewardship.”