Wednesday, June 13, 2012

First Award of June G. Patton Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Photo (L to R): Jada Craze, Dr. Jackie Owens, and Jeri Berryman

Two members of the Ashland University chapter of the nursing honor society Sigma Theta Tau International, Rho Nu-at-Large, received financial assistance toward their graduate education in nursing. AU CON faculty member Jada Craze and Mount Vernon Nazarene University faculty member Jeri Berryman were awarded funds from the June G. Patton Memorial Graduate Scholarship. The scholarship, created in 2007 to further graduate studies for chapter members, was renamed in memory of Dr. Patton in 2010. It is currently supported by the Rho Nu-at-Large chapter and managed by the Ashland County Community Foundation (ACCF). Dr. Patton was an Associate Professor in the AU Department of Nursing from 1998 to 2010.

On June 11, 2012, ACCF held a luncheon to honor 12 newly established scholarships and recipients. Dr. Jackie Owens, president-elect of the Rho Nu-at-Large chapter and chair of the scholarship committee, attended the lunch to represent the honor society and accept a plaque given to Rho Nu-at-Large to commemorate the first award of the June G. Patton Memorial Graduate Scholarship through ACCF. Jada and Jeri were in attendance to share their academic goals with the foundation board members and receive their 2012 scholarship awards. Jada is enrolled at Walden University; Jeri attends Indiana Wesleyan University. Both are master's level students who anticipate a graduation in 2013.

Applications for the June G. Patton Memorial Graduate Scholarship are due to ACCF annually by April 1. Any Rho Nu-at-Large member pursuing graduate level education in nursing is eligible to apply and funds are awarded on a competitive basis. Please contact Jackie Owens at for more information.