Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Nursing Alumni Association Hold Banquet

The Dwight Schar College of Nursing Alumni Association held their annual banquet at the Ontario Event Center on October 1, 2016. There were approximately 50 people in attendance. The graduating classes of 1966 and 1991 of Mansfield General Hospital School of Nursing and Ashland College were honored. The only members present from those classes were two members of the MGH Class of 1966. They were Mary Morrow Appellof and Esther Tallentire Evans.  Also attending was Jane Fransens Beeching, a member of the MGH Class of 1946, celebrating 70 years since graduation.

The Alumni Association awarded three $1000 scholarships to students who wrote essays answering the question: "What are the qualities of a good nurse and how do you fit those qualities?" The essays were evaluated by the alumni board. The students selected this year are: Emily Donahue, Samantha Birchall and Katie Lemmeir. We also had two students who received scholarships from our Endowed Scholarship Fund. They are Kate Hogsette and Katrina McEuen. In total, the Nursing Alumni provided approximately $4500 in scholarship funds to students this year.

Mansfield General Hospital School of Nursing Class of 1966:
Mary Morrow Appellof & Esther Tallentire Evans
Nursing Alumni Scholarship Recipients:
Katrina McEuen, Emily Donahue & Samantha Birchall
Emily Donahue (middle), an AU nursing student, was awarded a scholarship
from the Nursing Alumni Association. Her proud grandmother,
Linda Lombard Konves, is on the left. Linda graduated from Mansfield
General Hospital School of Nursing in 1962. Emily's mom, Karen Donahue,
is on the right

On September 22, 1924, seven women graduated from Mansfield General School of Nursing. The following day they were all sitting around the fire place on their time off discussing their future. They realized  their class would be the beginning of an Alumni Association and in order to have an organization they must appoint officers. So after some discussion they came up with the following officers, President Miss Gayle C. Rife, Secretary Miss Laura Ricker, Treasurer Miss Ruby Maurer, Miss Kathryn Van Tilburg was named Trustee.

Activities of the association are many and varied. Scholarships are granted to worthy student nurses on the basis of merit or need and continued throughout the three years upon satisfactory academic standing. Trends in medical research, community projects, and other interesting and informative programs highlight their monthly meetings.

Graduate nurses are urged to actively participate in the association to future the closeness of the profession.